Episode 207 – July 29, 2011


  • 9:00 AM-Hometown Nazareth VBS-SV Berean Church-9am-Noon – 467-3715
  • 12:00 PM-Loaves & Fishes Lunch-Etna United Methodist Church-Deliveries – 467-3612
  • 2:00 PM-Board Games-SV Family Resource Center
  • 6:00 PM-Podcast Workshop-Bob’s Ranch House-Serena 467-3051
  • 6:30 PM-SVB Concert “Broadway Phil & The Shouters”-Miner Street Park, Yreka-Rhythm, Blues & Smokin’ Harmonica

Upcoming Events:

  • July 30th – 5:00 PM-Old Timers Rodeo-Pleasure Park
  • August 5th – 6-8 PM – First Friday Creative Arts Night Reception featuring award-winning artist, Christos Spontylides.
    Mr. Spontylides is one of the regular exhibiting artist members of the cooperative effort at the Marble Rim Gallery.

Christos is a part-time artist who draws and paints in several different media. Most of his current art work has been in watercolor where he has been exploring many of the characteristics of this versatile medium.  The versatility of Mr. Spontylides in the creative realm also is evidenced by his demonstrated outstanding talent as a concert pianist.

Mr. Spontylides earned his Bachelor or Arts degree from the University of Akron (Ohio). Since then, he has won many awards in regional and national shows. Most recently, one of his paintings was selected as a winner of the 2011  Jack Richeson Small Artworks Show and was hung in the national exhibit at the Richeson Gallery. Two other works were granted “meritorious standing”.  Also, recently, Christos was given the honor of having one of his watercolors, entitled “The Big Yawn”, chosen as the cover art for the June 2011 edition of the  East Bay Monthly  magazine. Mr. Spontylides’ original painting of “The Big Yawn” is one of the pieces on display and for sale at the Gallery.  The only way to appreciate this fantastic piece of art is to look at it up close.  As with his other pieces, it is truly amazing.

For more information contact: Don Duncan @ 468-3595 or julied@sisqtel.net, or contact Charnna Gilmore @ 598-2733 or charnna@svre.com

2011 Scott Valley Hall of Fame Inductees

1978 Fort Jones HS Girls Basketball Team

1986 Etna HS Football Team

Tim Bradford 1985

Russ Dean 1982

Glenda (Whipple) Hubbard 1991

Jim Isbell 1967

Jeff Kellogg 1980

Annie (Malmberg) Lundgren 1991

Dan Martin 1964

Berry (Hurlimann) Minnitte 1977

Rod Vinall

Bill Wilkins

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *